More schools turn green with clean energy and solar

  • 91 schools to receive funding through first round of the McGowan Government's $44.6 million Schools Clean Energy Technology Fund
  • Seven new schools to receive Virtual Power Plant battery systems
  • 84 schools to have solar panels, which will reduce energy costs and carbon emissions 
  • The McGowan Government has today announced 91 schools that are set to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions and energy costs as part of the first round of the $44.6 million Schools Clean Energy Technology Fund.

    This includes the expansion of Synergy's Virtual Power Plant (VPP) pilot program to seven schools across the Mid-West and Goldfields regions, bringing the total number of schools with VPPs to 17.

    In the Goldfields, O'Connor Primary School, Hannans Primary School and Kalgoorlie Primary School have been selected to receive VPPs, along with Geraldton Senior High School, Champion Bay Senior High School, Holland Street School and Kalbarri District High School in the Mid-West.

    Each of these schools will be equipped with battery energy storage systems and smart VPP technology to make the best use of Western Australia's significant solar power resources.

    The VPP schools were selected by Synergy based on operational and technical considerations, enabling the pilot program to explore how benefits can be maximised across the power system.

    Under round one of the Schools Clean Energy Technology Fund, WA public schools were invited to apply for solar panels to reduce their environmental footprint and energy costs.

    A total of 84 schools across the State were successful - 61 schools in the metropolitan area, and 23 schools in the regions.

    Applications for round two will open to schools in Term 2, 2022.

    As stated by Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:

    "We are committed to making changes and funding new initiatives that reduce the impact that schools have on the environment.

    "While the Virtual Power Plants reduce emissions, they also have the benefit of providing incredible learning opportunities for students.

    "I'm proud to announce that a further seven schools will be fitted with battery systems through the Virtual Power Plant pilot program, and an additional 84 schools will have solar panels installed.

    "These allocations are all part of the McGowan Government's $44.6 million investment in the Schools Clean Energy Technology Fund."

    As stated by Energy Minister Bill Johnston:

    "The expansion of Synergy's Schools VPP pilot program to the regions is an exciting step in continuing to deliver the McGowan Government's Energy Transformation Strategy.

    "VPPs will help ensure that Western Australian homes, schools and businesses can continue to benefit from rooftop solar, while maintaining the security and the fairness of our power system.

    "I am pleased that the Schools Clean Energy Technology Fund is bringing these benefits to 84 public schools that have previously missed out, which will support our power system by incorporating innovative solar technology.

    "I look forward to helping deliver other clean energy technologies in future rounds, and believe this is an excellent opportunity for development of WA's energy efficiency sector."

    Education and Training Minister's office - 6552 5700

    Schools Clean Energy Technology - Round 1 - Successful schools


    1. Arbor Grove Primary School
    2. Ashburton Drive Primary School
    3. Aspiri Primary School
    4. Atwell Primary School
    5. Aveley Primary School
    6. Bambara Primary School
    7. Belmay Primary School
    8. Bentley Primary School
    9. Bletchley Park Primary School
    10. Camboon Primary School
    11. Canning Vale College
    12. Carramar Primary School
    13. Clarkson Community High School
    14. Dalmain Primary School
    15. Darlington Primary School
    16. Davallia Primary School
    17. Dianella Primary College
    18. Doubleview Primary School
    19. Gibbs Street Primary School
    20. Glencoe Primary School
    21. Glendale Primary School
    22. Goollelal Primary School
    23. Halidon Primary School
    24. Harrisdale Primary School
    25. Helena Valley Primary School
    26. High Wycombe Primary School
    27. Hillman Primary School
    28. Honeywood Primary School
    29. Jandakot Primary School
    30. John Butler Primary College and Education Support Centre
    31. John Tonkin College - Tindale Campus
    32. Kingsley Primary School
    33. Leda Primary School and Education Support Centre
    34. Maddington Primary School
    35. Makybe Rise Primary School
    36. Malibu School (K-12)
    37. Malvern Springs Primary School
    38. Manning Primary School
    39. Middle Swan Primary School
    40. Mundijong Primary School
    41. Neerigen Brook Primary School
    42. Nollamara Primary School
    43. North Balga Primary School
    44. North Morley Primary School
    45. Orelia Primary School
    46. Osborne Primary School
    47. Rawlinson Primary School
    48. Rivergums Primary School
    49. Rivervale Primary School
    50. Rockingham Lakes Primary School
    51. Sorrento Primary School
    52. South Padbury Primary School
    53. Spring Hill Primary School
    54. Sutherland Dianella Primary School
    55. Tuart Rise Primary School
    56. Waddington Primary School
    57. Wellard Primary School
    58. West Beechboro Primary School
    59. Westfield Park Primary School
    60. Willandra Primary School
    61. Yanchep Beach Primary School 


    1. Avonvale Primary School
    2. Brookton District High School
    3. Brunswick Junction Primary School
    4. Cape Naturaliste College
    5. Coolgardie Primary School
    6. Darkan Primary School
    7. Gairdner Primary School
    8. Harvey Primary School
    9. Kellerberrin District High School
    10. Merredin College
    11. Narembeen District High School
    12. Northam Primary School
    13. Pia Wadjarri Remote Community School
    14. Quairading District High School
    15. Rangeway Primary School
    16. Rapids Landing Primary School
    17. River Valley Primary School
    18. South Bunbury Primary School
    19. South Kalgoorlie Primary School
    20. Treendale Primary School
    21. Wandina Primary School
    22. West Northam Primary School
    23. Wilson Park Primary School
    /Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.