Mornington Peninsula Shire Council appoints new Mayor


The new Mornington Peninsula Shire Council has met for the first time and elected Cr Despi O’Connor as Mayor for the coming year. Councillors chose Cr Sarah Race to serve as Deputy Mayor.

The Mayor and Deputy Mayor were appointed at a special Annual Council Meeting in Mornington on Monday evening at which all 11 new councillors took the Oath of Office and promised to abide by the Councillor Code of Conduct.

The meeting also farewelled eight former councillors from the 2016-2020 term: Simon Brooks, Rosie Clark, Bev Colomb, Sam Hearn, Frank Martin, Julie Morris, Bryan Payne and Kate Roper.

New Mayor Cr O’Connor is a teacher and long-term Peninsula resident. She is an active member of several community organisations and currently works as a teacher at Mount Martha Primary School.

Cr O’Connor thanked her councillor colleagues for their support and trust: “I appreciate the support of the other councillors in choosing me for this role. It is not a small job.”

“I promise to be true to our community and will lead with advocacy, inclusion, compassion and empathy.

“This is a wonderful municipality and I look forward to building strong, positive and productive working relationships with the broader community, the other councillors and Shire staff.”

Shire CEO John Baker said: “I’m delighted to officially welcome our new councillors and look forward to working with them to fulfil the community’s vision for the Mornington Peninsula.”

Mornington Peninsula Shire Council 2020-2024

Briars Ward Steve Holland, Despi O’Connor, Anthony Marsh

Cerberus ward Lisa Dixon

Nepean Ward Sarah Race, Hugh Fraser*

Red Hill Ward David Gill*

Seawinds Ward Antonella Celi*, Kerri McCafferty, Debra Mar

Watson Ward Paul Mercurio

*returning Councillors

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.