New members appointed to Aboriginal Advisory Council

  • Three new members appointed to the Aboriginal Advisory Council of Western Australia (the Council)
  • Mr Preston Thomas, Mr Fabian Tucker and Ms Rowena Leslie are welcomed additions to the Council
  • Aboriginal Affairs Minister Tony Buti is pleased to announce the appointment of three new members to the Aboriginal Advisory Council of Western Australia (the Council).

    The Council, established under Section 18 of the Aboriginal Affairs Planning Authority Act 1972, is a strategic partner of the WA Government and provides critical contribution to the development of State priorities and policies relating to Aboriginal Affairs.

    The Council meets up to six times per year to provide advice on a range of policy matters.

    The Council welcomes Mr Preston Thomas, Mr Fabian Tucker and Ms Rowena Leslie who each bring an immeasurable body of professional, leadership and executive experiences to the position.

    Mr Thomas works for the Ngaanyatjarra Council Aboriginal Corporation, having previously spent 15 years with the WA Police Force as an Aboriginal Police Liaison Officer, and being involved with the Ngaanyatjarra Health Service and the Aboriginal Health Council of WA.

    Mr Tucker works for Carey Mining, having previously chaired Bega Garnbirringu Health Service, and being an Executive Board member for the Aboriginal Health Council of WA and the Goldfields Indigenous Housing Organisation.

    Ms Leslie is the Director and Executive Manager for Kai Rho Contracting, is Vice Chair of the Kurrawang Aboriginal Christian Community and Chair of the Goldfields Aboriginal Business Chamber.

    Mr Thomas, Mr Tucker and Ms Leslie join the other current Council members – Mr Martin Sibosado (Co-Chair), Ms Gail Beck (Co-Chair), Ms Vicki O’Donnell, Ms Linda Dridi, Ms Corina Martin, Ms Gail Reynolds-Adamson, Mr Daniel Brown, and Ms Merle Carter.

    More information about the Council is available to view here.

    As stated by Aboriginal Affairs Minister Tony Buti:

    “I would like to congratulate Mr Preston Thomas, Mr Fabian Tucker and Ms Rowena Leslie on their appointment to the Aboriginal Advisory Council.

    “Each new member brings a wealth of experience and I welcome the value they will bring the Council.

    “I would like to acknowledge the work of the Aboriginal Advisory Council over the past 12 months and I look forward to our continued collaboration to improve outcomes for Aboriginal people living in Western Australia.”

    As stated by the Aboriginal Advisory Council of WA Co-Chairs:

    “Council welcomes the incoming members and is encouraged by the collaborative process engaged between Council, Minister Buti and the WA Government in ensuring that Aboriginal representation on Council is representative of the regions of WA, as one of the strategic priorities of the WA Aboriginal Empowerment Strategy, and the National Closing the Gap Agreement priority reform one – local and regional decision making.

    “We look forward to working with the new members to drive our vision for our collective peoples moving forward in partnership with the State Government.”

    /Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.