Nominees for UvA Thesis Prize 2021

University of Amsterdam

The six faculty winners of the UvA Thesis Prize have been chosen by the reading committees of the participating faculties (there were no theses received this year from the Faculty of Dentistry/ACTA). Each of these winners will receive a prize of 1000 euro. They are all eligible to also win 3000 euro for the best thesis of the University of Amsterdam of the academic year 2020-2021. The prize ceremony where the winner will be announced will take place on the last day of the University Festival, Saturday 5 June.

The faculty winners are:

Tessa Hartley on behalf of the Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences with her thesis: Reading a changing urban landscape: A biography of an intersection in Amsterdam Noord

Aster Hoving on behalf of the Faculty of Humanities with her thesis: Elemental Aesthetics: Sun, Wind, and Tides Beyond Green Energy

Arjen Meeuwisse on behalf of the Faculty of Medicine with his thesis: Jetlag after surgery: The influence of anesthetics on circadian rhythm

Lotte Mertens on behalf of the Faculty of Science with her thesis: Spontaneous Unitary Violations and Effective Non-linearity in Relation to Quantum State Reduction

Iris Nonneman on behalf of Economics and Business with her thesis: Personalised prediction of the time to the first relapse for patients with Relapsing Remitting Multiple Sclerosis

Marieke Quaak on behalf of the Amsterdam Law School with her thesis: The supply chain of antimicrobials: blockchain technology and associated legal obstacles

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.