Online finals Wageningen Youth Institute 2023

On January 26, students from the Netherlands, Czech Republic and Qatar shared their advice for solving food security problems with each other and experts. This was already the sixth edition of the Wageningen Youth Institute (WYI), an initiative of the World Food Prize Foundation in the US and Wageningen University & Research.

Coordinator Mirjam Troost and the WYI winner from 2018, Dennis Vlegels, hosted an online talk show from a studio. Linda Klunder of Kumasi Drinks shared her experiences with setting up a business with the waste product of cacao. This talk show preceded the round table discussions.

Twentyfour secondary school students presented their advice for solving food security problems in the world, after months of working together with students from Wageningen University. The experts were impressed by the quality of the students’ research.


Five students were selected to participate in the virtual Global Youth Institute of

the World Food Prize Foundation in October 2023!

– Sanem Kiran (Insula College)

– Kerim Calvelo Demirkol (Homeschool)

– Sterre Veldhuijzen (Insula College)

– Matyáš Tomiška (Secondary School for administration of the European Union)

– Isabelle Theunisz (Insula College)

They will be able to find even more inspiration there and meet students and experts

from all over the world.

Speakers and experts

The Wageningen Youth Institute wants to thank all the experts and speakers for taking the time to inspire young and old and to make WYI 2023 a success!

  • Maaike Groot, East-West Seed
  • Linda Klunder, Kumasi Drinks
  • Eva Eveloo
  • Tiny van Boekel
  • Petra Naber
  • Eva de Groot
  • Paula Tejada
  • Precious Akumpurira
  • Jeroen Baas, East-West Seed

Meer informatie

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.