Science & Technology Australia welcomes new committee members

STA is delighted to welcome new members to our Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee and our Policy Committee.


Dr Marguerite Evans-Galea AM will join our Policy Committee. Dr Evans-Galea is an IMNIS Executive Director at the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering, and the co-founder and co-chair of Women in STEMM Australia. She is a committed advocate for STEM research, innovation and inclusion, who is also an inductee of the Victorian Honour Roll of Women and a Member of the Order of Australia.

Joining the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee are Dr Susanna Cramb of the Statistical Society of Australia, Dr Erin McGillick of Reproductive Health Australia, and Dr Tara Roberson of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Engineered Quantum Systems.

Dr Cramb is a Senior Research Fellow at Queensland University of Technology, and a biostatistician at Jamieson Trauma Institute. An emerging research leader, Dr Cramb was recognised as a Superstar of STEM (2019/20 cohort) and a Queensland Young Tall Poppy in 2020.

Dr McGillick is a medical scientist and NHMRC Peter Doherty Early Career Research Fellow at the Hudson Institute of Medical Research and Monash University. She has received numerous awards for her work including Fresh Science Finalist and APIS Young Tall Poppy Award, and is one of our Superstars of STEM. She is passionate about equity, diversity, inclusion and allyship being actively involved leading initiatives for the Hudson Institute and as a director of the Australian Society for Medical Research.

Dr Roberson is a postdoctoral researcher at the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Engineered Quantum Systems (EQUS). She is a science communicator and social scientist who works with quantum physicists to understand the implications of emerging technologies in their field. She is a STEM Ambassador to Julian Simmonds MP (Federal Member for Ryan). Tara is an active member of the UQ Ally Action Committee and facilitator of university workshops on LGBTIQA+ inclusion.

STA is delighted to also welcome back to the Policy committee re-elected members Professor Adrian Barnett and Dr Bek Christensen.

“The exceptionally high quality of our committee members gives STA the capacity to continue to grow its influence in STEM policy, coming off a very high base,” said Science & Technology Australia Chief Executive Officer Misha Schubert.

“These high-powered committees not only inform our policy work and our equity, diversity, and inclusion commitments, but represent the breadth and diversity across STA’s membership as the peak voice for the sector.”

“We encourage STA members to engage with members of these committees as they do with their cluster representatives on important policy topics.”

“The strength of STA’s policy work stems from its deep and active engagement with our members as the voice of our sector to Government, business, and society.”

Our sincere thanks to outgoing committee members Tanya Ha, Kathleen Beyer, Amy Heffernan, Sam Moskwa, and Sanam Mustafa for their incredibly valuable contributions. We appreciate and thank them and all the other committee members for the significant work they have put in on behalf of members and for Science & Technology Australia.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.