State Dept. Names 20 Scholars for Fulbright Arctic Initiative

Department of State

Furthering the U.S. government's efforts to address security and sustainability in the Arctic, the U.S. Department of State announced 20 scholars selected as the fourth cohort for the Fulbright Arctic Initiative. Part of the larger Fulbright Program, the initiative explores topics including climate change and Arctic resources, Arctic security and governance, and mental health and well-being, and furthers the Fulbright Program's mission to connect the people of the United States and other countries.

The new group of scholars from seven countries will spend 18 months building on the success of the first three cohorts of the Fulbright Arctic Initiative since 2015. The scholar participants in those cohorts collaborated to produce a significant number of publications, reports, and policy recommendations that contributed to long-term Arctic security and sustainability. Countries represented include the United States, Canada, the Kingdom of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and the Kingdom of Sweden.

In addition to the Department of State, the governments of Canada, the Kingdom of Denmark, and Iceland have provided additional funding for the fourth cohort of Fulbright Arctic Scholars.

The cohort will be co-led by Dr. Elizabeth Rink, Professor of Community Health in the Department of Health and Human Development at Montana State University, and Dr. Lill Rastad Bjørst, Associate Professor of Arctic Studies in the Department of Culture and Learning and Scientific Director of Green Societies at Aalborg University in Denmark, both of whom are alumni of the initiative.

To learn more about the Fulbright Arctic Initiative and for a full list of the scholars selected, visit

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.