UN Committee on Elimination of Racial Discrimination to review Benin, Nicaragua, USA, Azerbaijan, Slovakia, Zimbabwe and Suriname


The UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD) will hold its upcoming session from 8 to 30 August, during which it will review Benin, Nicaragua, the United States of America, Azerbaijan, Slovakia, Zimbabwe and Suriname.

The seven countries are among the 182 States parties to the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination. They are required to undergo regular reviews by the Committee of 18 independent international experts on how they are implementing the Convention.

The Committee, which has received respective country reports and other submissions from non-governmental organizations and national human rights institutions, will discuss and address a range of issues with the seven State delegations through public dialogues on the following dates at Geneva time:


9 Aug 15:00 – 18:00

10 Aug 10:00 – 13:00


10 Aug 15:00 – 18:00

11 Aug 10:00 – 13:00

United States of America

11 Aug 15:00 – 18:00

12 Aug 10:00 – 13:00


15 Aug 15:00 – 18:00

16 Aug 10:00 – 13:00


16 Aug 15:00 – 18:00

17 Aug 10:00 – 13:00


17 Aug 15:00 – 18:00

18 Aug 10:00 – 13:00


18 Aug 15:00 – 18:00

19 Aug 15:00 – 18:00

The U.S. dialogue will take place at Palais des Nations in Room XIX while the other six dialogues will be held in the Ground Floor Conference Hall of Palais Wilson in Geneva. All public dialogues will be livecast on media accreditation.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.