UNE research associate recognized with CERF Scientific Award

Christine Feurt, Ph.D., research associate in the School of Marine and Environmental Programs, is the recipient of a 2021 Coastal and Estuarine Research Federation (CERF) Scientific Award.

Recipients of the awards embody the mission of CERF to advance understanding and wise stewardship of estuarine and coastal ecosystems worldwide by promoting research; supporting the education of scientists, decision-makers, and the public; and facilitating communication among these groups.

Feurt was recognized with the Margaret A. Davidson Award for Stewardship for being a visionary social scientist who integrates human dimensions into coastal management.

Her accomplishments include developing the Coastal Training Program at Wells National Estuarine Research Reserve, creating the Resilience Dialogues Curriculum of best practices for stakeholder engagement in collaborative science, putting together the Collaborative Learning Guide for Ecosystem Management focused on engaging diverse audiences to address stewardship concerns, and facilitating the formation of the Salmon Falls Watershed Collaborative.

“Chris Feurt has effortlessly spanned the divide between academia and real-world stewardship to bring scientists, community members, and other stakeholders together to help protect the marshes, estuaries, and coasts of Maine,” commented Charles Tilburg, Ph.D., director of the School of Marine and Environmental Programs. “Her caring, compassionate style of teaching has allowed her many students to gain both an appreciation for the coastal environment and the hands-on skills for coastal management. This award is well-deserved.”

For 20 years, Feurt served as a part-time faculty member in the Department of Environmental Studies where she worked as the director of the Center for Sustainable Communities.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.