UQ bestows Honorary Awards on outstanding community leaders

University of Queensland

Indigenous Elders, senior figures in Queensland law and leaders in education are among The University of Queensland’s seven 2022 Honorary Award recipients.

UQ Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Deborah Terry AO said that Honorary Doctorates and the new UQ R.H. Roe Award were among the highest honours bestowed by the University.

“We are proud to recognise the exceptional contributions of these esteemed members of our community, who have worked tirelessly to raise up those around them,” Professor Terry said.

“This year’s Honorary Award recipients embody UQ’s mission, values and aspirations.”

This year the University has established the UQ R.H. Roe Award to recognise individuals who have made a unique and lasting contribution through their dedicated service to UQ.

The award is named after UQ’s first Vice-Chancellor (1911-1916), Reginald Heber Roe, who worked to build popular support for the establishment of a university in Queensland, championing access to education for all.

Inaugural R.H. Roe Award recipient

Emeritus Professor Fred D’Agostino

Emeritus Professor Fred D’Agostino is recognised as one of the most exceptional and respected academic leaders at UQ. Across almost 20 years, he has contributed generously to the UQ community as an exemplary scholar, leader, teacher and colleague. He is also a Fellow of the Academy of the Humanities in Australia in recognition of his work in political philosophy and epistemology.

UQ Honorary Doctorate recipients

Richard Bell

Richard Bell is a member of the Kamilaroi, Kooma, Jiman and Gurang Gurang communities and an influential artist, recognised for his longstanding achievements, contributions and commitment to contemporary Australian art and Aboriginal art.

Kev Carmody

Kev Carmody is a Bundjalung/Lama Lama man and a singer/songwriter, who is celebrated in Queensland and across Australia for his contributions to the arts and to social justice. UQ’s new student residential building, Kev Carmody House was officially launched in 2022, named to honour Mr Carmody’s remarkable life, contributions to UQ and passion for access to education.

Professor Peter Høj AC

Professor Peter Høj AC is a nationally and internationally recognised leader in the higher education and research sectors, with more than 20 years’ senior-leadership experience in universities, including 8 years as UQ’s Vice-Chancellor and President.

Adjunct Professor John McKenna KC

John McKenna KC is an esteemed Queensland lawyer, who is known for his significant and sustained contributions to UQ and to a range of legal and educational charities.

The Honourable Justice Anthe Philippides

The Honourable Justice Anthe Philippides has contributed almost 40 years of distinguished service to the law in Queensland, alongside a lifetime of unwavering advocacy for the arts, First Nations peoples, and diversity and inclusion.

Dr Ian Poiner FTSE

Dr Ian Poiner is one of Australia’s most respected leaders in marine science. He has driven significant outcomes in the health, diversity and conservation of marine life in Australia and overseas, including compiling a comprehensive inventory of 30 million records of known marine life.

The awards will be conferred during graduation ceremonies at UQ’s St Lucia campus in December.

Find out more about the 2022 UQ Honorary Award recipients here.

Image above left: Emeritus Professor Fred D’Agostino. Image above right: The Honourable Justice Anthe Philippides.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.