193 police recruits sworn in at attestation ceremony

PLEASE NOTE: A live, online broadcast of the ceremony will be available on the NSW Police Force You Tube channel.

NSW Police Force Commissioner Karen Webb will swear-in 193 new probationary constables at her first attestation ceremony as chief in Goulburn today (Friday 4 March 2022).

The students of Class 351 are set to take their oath of office before Commissioner Webb, who will be joined by Deputy Premier The Hon Paul Toole, Her Excellency, The Honourable Margaret Beazley, Mayor of Goulburn Mulwaree Council, Mr Peter Walker, and senior NSW Police officers.

From this Monday (7 March 2022), the new recruits will commence their year as probationary constables in metro, regional and rural locations across the state.

Class 351 includes 133 men and 60 women who will complete their year of on-the-job training and the Associate Degree in Policing Practice by distance education with Charles Sturt University before being confirmed to the rank of constable.

Deputy Premier and Minister for Police Paul Toole congratulated the newest recruits in Goulburn.

“Police officers on the frontline serve and protect our communities right across the state every day,” Minister Toole said.

“We don’t often see a major event or emergency without also seeing the men and women in blue on the ground doing what they can, whether it’s responding to a natural disaster like the current flooding crisis, a car accident or a public protest.

“The NSW Government is proud to support this new Class of probationary constables as they embark on their careers.”

The NSW Government announced in 2019 the delivery of 1500 additional officers over four years, backed by a further $60 million commitment to upgrade to Goulburn Police Academy.

Police Commissioner Karen Webb welcomed the latest intake of probationary constables.

“It takes a special person to sign up for a career in policing, which is why I am so pleased to personally welcome and congratulate every recruit today,” Commissioner Webb said.

“It’s a job that involves putting others first every time we put on the blue uniform, but it’s an extremely satisfying career.

“Whether you are stationed at one of the busiest police stations in the Sydney CBD, or at a rural station in a remote community out west, your contribution to this organisation and the broader community will not go unnoticed.”

People and Capability Command Assistant Commissioner Dean Smith, acknowledged the dedication and achievement of the Class 351 recruits as they attest today.

“Today’s ceremony follows eight months of commitment to becoming a police officer and today we celebrate their achievement,” Assistant Commissioner Smith said.

“I want to thank and acknowledge the families and friends of our newest recruits – many of whom are here today – as they continue to support their loved ones in their careers.

“Police stations across the state will welcome our recruits from Monday as they take on their role as probationary constables.”


A total of 193 recruits are being sworn in today.

The class comprises 133 men and 60 women.

The students will attest with the rank of probationary constable. Recruits will report to their stations for work from Monday 7 March 2022.

They will then complete 12 months’ on-the-job training and study by distance education with Charles Sturt University. They officially graduate with an Associate Degree in Policing Practice once they have passed all academic and operation standards. The officers will then be confirmed to the rank of constable.

Of the probationary constables attesting today, 179 were born in Australia and 14 were born overseas. Their countries of origin include China, Philippines, United Kingdom, Greece, Russia, Portugal, Burma, Serbia, Malta, Germany and Kuwait.

Nine recruits are indigenous, with four recruits joining through the Indigenous Police Recruitment Our Way Delivery (IPROWD) program.

Class 351 comprises:

  • 18-20 – 27
  • 21-25 – 100
  • 26-30 – 42
  • 31-35 – 8
  • 36-40 – 12
  • Over 40 – 4



Eastern Beaches PAC – 4

Eastern Suburbs PAC – 5

Inner West PAC – 5

Kings Cross PAC – 2

Leichhardt PAC – 2

South Sydney PAC – 5

St George PAC – 9

Surry Hills PAC – 6

Sutherland Shire PAC – 4

Sydney City PAC – 8


Blacktown PAC – 6

Blue Mountains PAC – 2

Hawkesbury PAC – 2

Kuring Gai PAC – 3

Mt Druitt PAC – 2

Nepean PAC – 3

North Shore PAC – 5

Northern Beaches PAC – 5

Parramatta PAC – 2

Riverstone PD – 5

Ryde PAC – 5

The Hills PAC – 2


Auburn PAC – 3

Bankstown PAC – 5

Burwood PAC – 6

Camden PAC – 4

Campbelltown City PAC – 6

Campsie PAC – 2

Cumberland PAC – 4

Fairfield City PAC – 5

Liverpool City PAC – 7


Brisbane Water PD – 5

Coffs/Clarence PD – 3

Hunter Valley PD – 3

Lake Macquarie PD – 2

Mid North Coast PD – 4

Port Stephens-Hunter PD – 1

Richmond PD – 4

Tuggerah Lakes PD – 2

Tweed/Byron PD – 1


Lake Illawarra PD – 5

Monaro PD – 1

Murray River PD – 1

Riverina PD – 3

South Coast PD – 3

The Hume PD – 3

Wollongong PD – 2


Central West PD – 3

Chifley PD – 3

New England PD – 4

Orana Mid-Western PD – 4

Oxley PD – 2


/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.