A complete approach to mine rehab in Latrobe Valley

Planning for rehabilitation of the Latrobe Valley’s brown coal mines is being bolstered with the creation of a new authority and the release of a strategy to guide mine rehabilitation over the coming decades.

The Mine Land Rehabilitation Authority and the Latrobe Valley Regional Rehabilitation Strategy (LVRRS) were launched in Morwell today.

The new authority replaces the Latrobe Valley Mine Rehabilitation Commissioner from 30 June, it will be based at the new GovHub in Morwell and be part of the 300-strong workforce residing at the new facility when it is completed later this year.

The Latrobe Valley Mine Rehabilitation Commissioner, Emeritus Professor Rae Mackay, has been appointed Chairperson of the authority’s board. Professor Mackay will be supported by experienced board director Ms Christine Trotman, who will serve as Deputy Chairperson.

Latrobe Valley locals, Mr Ian Nethercote and Mr Ian Gibson, have also been appointed to the authority’s inaugural board, as have former member of the Technical Review Board Ms Corinne Unger and governance professional Claire Miller. All positions are three-year appointments.

The new body will ensure locals continue to be engaged about mine rehabilitation, it has been created to oversee the implementation of the LVRRS and contribute to safe, stable, and sustainable rehabilitation solutions.

/Public Release. View in full here.