Appointments to the Industrial Injuries Advisory Council

Six new members have been appointed to the Industrial Injuries Advisory Council from 1 November 2018.


Sarah Newton, Minister for Disabled People, Health and Work, on behalf of the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions, is pleased to appoint 6 new members to the Industrial Injuries Advisory Council (IIAC) from 1 November 2018. Five independent members have been appointed for 5 years and the sixth, an employer representative for 3 years.

Dr Lesley Rushton, IIAC Chair, said:

I am very pleased to welcome the new members who will bring extensive expertise and experience in several important areas which will be of great value to the future work of the Council.

The 5 new independent members are:

Prof Kim Burton

Prof Kim Burton specialises in musculoskeletal occupational health research. He is an Associate Professor of Clinical Biomechanics at the British School of Osteopathy in London, and since 2015 has been an expert adviser to the government’s Joint Work and Health Unit.

Prof John Cherrie

Prof John Cherrie is currently Professor of Human Health at Heriot Watt University and Principal Scientist at the Institute for Occupational Medicine (IOM), having previously been a Research Director at the IOM. He has extensive specialist expertise in occupational hygiene and epidemiology, having worked on a number of epidemiological studies to investigate hazards and risks from exposure to chemicals and dusts, particularly in relation to occupational cancer. Currently, he is also a member of the Health and Safety’s Workplace Health Expert Committee. Previously, he had been a member of both the Advisory Committee on Pesticides (ACP) and the Expert Panel on Air Quality Standards (EPAQS). He was also an adviser to the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH) on the science behind their “No time to lose” campaign to raise awareness of occupational cancer.

Dr Valentina Gallo

Dr Valentina Gallo is a medically trained scientist with specific interest in neurodegenerative diseases and mental health disorders. She is a senior lecturer in Epidemiology at the Centre for Primary Care and Public Health at Bart’s and The London School of Medicine, University of London. She is also an Honorary Associate Professor at London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, and an honorary lecturer in Epidemiology at Imperial College London School of Public Health.

Dr Max Henderson

Dr Max Henderson is a clinician and academic in psychological medicine. He is a Consultant Liaison Psychiatrist at St James University Hospital in Leeds and co-founded the Occupational Psychiatry Special Interest Group in the Royal College of Psychiatrists and is its academic secretary. He was appointed to the Parliamentary Liaison Committee of the Royal College of Psychiatrists, was a member of the 2017 review into Mental Health and Employment by Lord Dennis Stevenson and Paul Farmer and a member of the Department for Work and Pensions and Department of Health Occupational Health Expert Group.

Dr Samuel (Chris) Stenton

Dr Samuel (Chris) Stenton is currently a Locum Consultant Physician at the Royal Victoria Infirmary in Newcastle upon Tyne and an Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne. Formerly, he had been a lecturer in Medicine and Senior Registrar (General and Occupational Medicine) and lecturer in Medicine and Honorary Clinical Registrar at the University.

The new employer representative is:

Dr Ian Lawson

Dr Ian Lawson has been appointed to represent employers for 3 years. He is a retired occupational health physician, and formerly Rolls-Royce Chief Medical Officer. He has also been an honorary lecturer at the Royal Society of Public Health and a former President of the Society of Occupational Medicine and has particular expertise in Hand Arm Vibration Syndrome.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.