APRA announces 2020 Brian Gray Scholarship recipient

The Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) has announced the recipient of the 2020 Brian Gray Scholarship.

The Brian Gray Scholarship program was established by APRA and the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) in September 2002 in memory of Brian Gray, APRA’s former Executive General Manager, Policy Research and Consulting, who spent more than two decades shaping regulatory policy in the financial area in his roles at the RBA and APRA.

The Brian Gray Scholarship program funds up to four scholarships annually, to the value of $15,000 each. The purpose of the scholarship is to support research students pursuing careers in finance, economics, actuarial science, econometrics, statistics or related disciplines.

The recipient of the 2020 scholarship is:

Alexander Knott – Honours candidate, Bachelor of Commerce, University of Western Australia.

Under the program, scholarship recipients will devote a substantial amount of time to an agreed research topic and present their findings to APRA and RBA staff upon completion of their research. As the 2020 scholarship recipient, Mr Knott will be researching the following topic:

Investigating the behaviour of Australian account-based pension holders and their responses to financial crises.

The scholarship program is open to Australian and New Zealand citizens and permanent residents completing their honours year or postgraduate studies on topics of relevance to APRA and/or the RBA, broadly. Scholarship applications open early February each year.

/Public Release. View in full here.