Ballarat to welcome new residents on Australian Citizenship Day

The City of Ballarat will today welcome a further 37 new Australian citizens to mark Australian Citizenship Day.

The conferees from 10 countries, including Nepal, New Zealand, India, Iraq and the Netherlands, will become Australian citizens during two online ceremonies.

This year marks the 20th anniversary of Australian Citizenship Day.

The City of Ballarat recently welcomed 50 citizens from 18 countries following the lifting of restrictions in regional areas.

“Most Councils have conducted fewer citizenship ceremonies than usual this year, so the opportunity to welcome more new Australians to our community on Australian Citizenship Day is something special,” Deputy Mayor, Cr Amy Johnson said.

Australian Citizenship Day provides an occasion for individuals, schools, community groups and organisations to reflect on the contributions of all citizens to their local communities.

It is anticipated that more than 140 ceremonies will take place by local councils and community groups across Australia, with more than 7,000 people invited to become new citizens.

“It’s a day for all of us to reflect and affirm our Australian citizenship as we warmly welcome our newest citizens from around the globe,” Cr Johnson said.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.