Establishing Building Compliance Taskforce

NT Government

The Territory Labor Government is today announcing the establishment of a Building Compliance Taskforce.

The Taskforce will be made up of senior agency representatives, which will review all government owned buildings in building control areas, and provide advice to government on appropriate pathways to compliance with the requirements of the Building Act 1993.

The Building Compliance Taskforce is being formed due to the complicated nature of certifying older buildings, as has been experienced through the Marrara Stadium certification process.

Northern Territory Government buildings are safe. The Territory Government undertakes regular repair and maintenance works or upgrades on our infrastructure assets, such as schools and hospitals. In Budget 2022 there is $93 million allocated to repairs and maintenance.

The Northern Territory Government is extending the declaration exempting Marrara Stadium from the requirements of the Building Act 1993 past 30 June 2022.

Territorians have been safely using Marrara Stadium for 30 years and can be assured of the ongoing safety of the Territory’s premier sporting facility.

The Territory Government has continued to invest in the stadium and has undertaken an extensive range of works in recent years including replacing the aging roof structure, upgrades to the fire safety services, improved accessibility for the public, renovations and upgrades to the public bathrooms, canteen and bar, as well as ongoing maintenance. Certification requirements have been met for these works.

A number of tests on the fire safety services have been undertaken over the past six months with all tests meeting current Australian standards.

The Territory Government will continue to maintain and manage the stadium to ensure it remains safe for all Territorians.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.