Nine Aussies to Attend Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

From top left: Dr Siobhon Egan, Dr Lynn Nazareth, Dr William Reay, Dr Enakshi Sinniah. From bottom left: Miss Cottrell Tamessar, Ms Rachel Visontay, Dr Ifrah Abdullahi, Dr David Klyne, Dr Kate Secombe.

Nine early-career researchers from Australia will be heading to Lindau, Germany this year to attend the prestigious Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting.

The annual event is expected to bring together 40 Nobel laureates and 635 young scientists from more than 90 nations.

The 72nd Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting is dedicated to Medicine and Physiology and will be held from 25 to 30 June 2023.

Participation in the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings is proudly supported by the Science and Industry Endowment Fund (SIEF) and administered by the Australian Academy of Science (AAS).

The Lindau SIEF-AAS Fellows will receive a grant to enable their attendance at the event and to take part in the SIEF Research Innovation Tour in Berlin. Led by Academy Fellow Professor Jennie Brand-Miller, the tour will showcase some of Germany's finest research and development facilities related to medicine and physiology.

The PhD candidates and postdoctoral researchers selected to attend this meeting in 2023 are:

  • Dr Siobhon Egan of Murdoch University, who studies systems biology with an emphasis on microbiome and infectious disease
  • Dr Lynn Nazareth of CSIRO, whose research focuses on generating ex-vivo (in a dish) models of the olfactory system to study viral infections from the nose to the brain
  • Dr William Reay of the University of Newcastle, who is investigating clinically actionable components of genomic risk for complex disorders
  • Dr Enakshi Sinniah of the University of Queensland, who researches stem cells and cardiovascular development
  • Miss Cottrell Tamessar of the University of Newcastle, who researches reproduction, nanoparticles, andrology, gynecology and infertility
  • Ms Rachel Visontay of the University of Sydney, who studies alcohol-health epidemiology.

Three of the SIEF-AAS Fellows from the field of medicine and physiology, who attended the 70th meeting virtually, have also been invited to participate in-person and will travel with the cohort selected this year to Lindau.

They are:

  • Dr Ifrah Abdullahi of La Trobe University, who is investigating the health and developmental outcomes of children of immigrant backgrounds
  • Dr David Klyne of the University of Queensland, who is researching why chronic pain develops, and how to prevent it
  • Dr Kate Secombe of the University of Adelaide, who is working to understand the role of the gut microbiota in the development of disease, and potential therapeutic applications of altering the microbiota.
/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.