Nominate now for 2020 Ag Town of Year

Regional communities across South Australia are being encouraged to shine the spotlight on their town through the 2020 South Australian Ag Town of the Year award with nominations now open.

In its second year, the South Australian Agricultural Town of the Year award recognises South Australian towns excelling in agricultural practices and the flow on effect they have on communities.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development David Basham, who opened the nominations at Kapunda today, said with the challenges facing regional communities it is important people get behind the award.

“The award highlights the vital role agriculture and other primary industries play in supporting not only our economy but our everyday life, which has strongly been shown through COVID-19, drought and bushfires,” said Minister Basham.

“Cleve was the worthy winner of the 2019 Ag Town of the Year and has given the region a sense of pride and community spirit during difficult times.

“Agriculture is the backbone of the state’s economy and we rely on regional communities to continue producing food and beverages day in, day out.

“Participating in the awards is a great way to thank our regional communities for their contribution to agriculture.

“No matter how big or small, it is important people nominate their regional towns who rely on agriculture and celebrate their successes.

“Following the nomination process, the public will be asked to vote to narrow the field to five finalist towns before an independent judging panel will decide on the winner.”

Member for Stuart Dan van Holst Pellekaan said the Ag Town of the Year award recognises the important contribution our regional communities make to South Australia.

“Agriculture is often the lifeblood of our regional communities and it’s fantastic to be able to officially open the 2020 Ag Town of the Year nominations at Kapunda,” said Minister van Holst Pellekaan.

“There are many towns throughout our electorate which have proud agricultural histories and I encourage local residents to put forward nominations.”

Cleve, Kapunda, Langhorne Creek, Millicent and Renmark were named the five finalists from 43 nominated towns in 2019 after showcasing the diversity of their regions and agricultural activities – from farmland and livestock to wine, forestry, fisheries and horticulture.

After winning the inaugural Ag Town of the Year, Mayor of Cleve Phil Cameron said the town has grown from strength to strength.

“This award has done wonders to the pride, reputation and respect of the Cleve community and will strengthen it for years to come,” Mr Cameron said.

“I encourage towns to participate and nominate for the 2020 award as it is all about showcasing the character and very substance of your township to the wider community.”

Any member of the public can nominate an agricultural town by visiting:

/Public News. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).