Social Security Advisory Committee appointments

The Minister for Work and Pensions, the Baroness Deborah Stedman-Scott OBE DL, has appointed Kayley Hignell to the Social Security Advisory Committee (SSAC).

In addition, existing member Grainne McKeever has been re-appointed to the Committee for a second term; and Jim McCormick’s current appointment has been extended to October 2020.

Confirming the appointments, Baroness Stedman-Scott said:

“I am delighted to appoint Kayley to the Social Security Advisory Committee. Her expertise and experience will enrich further the advice that the Committee provides to the DWP ministerial team. I am also pleased that SSAC will be able to continue to draw on the expert contributions of Grainne and Jim”.

Liz Sayce, SSAC interim Chair, said:

“Kayley is a very welcome addition to the Committee. She will bring excellent knowledge and insight to our work on a broad range of issues that affect many people in our society who find themselves in vulnerable situations. I look forward to working with her.

I am also delighted that Grainne and Jim’s terms have been extended. Both have made strong contributions to our work over the past few years, bringing important insight from Northern Ireland and Scotland into our work. It is very good news that we will continue to benefit from their input.”

About the Committee

The Social Security Advisory Committee is an independent statutory body established in 1980. It provides advice to the Secretary of State on proposals for the amendment of secondary legislation and on general social security matters.

The Commissioner for Public Appointments regulates all appointments made by the Secretary of State to SSAC. All such appointments are made in accordance with the Code of Practice published by the Commissioner. The code is based on 3 core principles – merit, openness and fairness.

SSAC members receive a daily fee of £256.80, for a time commitment of 2 to 3 days a month.

Business interests

Kayley Hignell

  • Citizens Advice, Head of Policy for Families, Welfare and Work.

Kayley will take up her 5 year appointment on 1 June 2020.

Dr Jim McCormick

  • Joseph Rowntree Foundation, Associate Director for Scotland; Chair of the independent Disability and Carers Benefits advisory group reporting to the Cabinet Secretary for Social Security in the Scottish Government; and chair of the Edinburgh Poverty Commission.

Jim’s terms have been extended to 31 October 2020.

Professor Grainne McKeever

  • Professor of Law and Social Justice at Ulster University; and former executive director of the Law Centre, Northern Ireland (2001 to 2020).

Grainne has been reappointed to 31 May 2024.

/Public Release. View in full here.