Disaster assistance extended to Torres Shire Council

Disaster assistance has been extended to Torres Shire Council as the impact from the record-breaking monsoon trough continues to unfold.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-Queensland Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Assistant Minister for Home Affairs Senator the Hon. Linda Reynolds and Queensland Fire and Emergency Services Minister Craig Crawford said remote communities in Torres Shire Council now had access to emergency hardship assistance payments.

Assistant Minister Reynolds, who has responsibility for Commonwealth disaster assistance, said the trough had wide-reaching impact.

“Since the extent of the damage was first realised we have worked closely with the Queensland Government to provide assistance to help communities get back on their feet,” Assistant Minister Reynolds said.

“Through the DRFA, remote communities in the Torres Strait Island Regional Council area will be able to access emergency hardship assistance payments of up to $180 for individuals and up to $900 for a family of five or more for food, clothing, emergency accommodation or medical supplies.”

Mr Crawford said the emergency hardship assistance helped communities in the first stages of recovery.

“It’s essential we provide support and assistance to our remote communities to help them get back on their feet,” he said.

“The addition of Torres Shire Council brings the number of councils activated for assistance for this event to 35.

“The Commonwealth Government and the Queensland Government have worked closely with all affected councils and state agencies to ensure all available support and assistance has been provided as soon as the impacts have been realised.

“This has been a major event for Queensland and the recovery effort will need all three levels of government working together on the road to recovery.”

A range of DRFA assistance is now available in 35 local government areas in northern and western Queensland: Barcoo, Boulia, Burdekin, Burke, Cairns, Carpentaria, Cassowary Coast, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Cook, Croydon, Diamantina, Douglas, Etheridge, Flinders, Hinchinbrook, Hope Vale, Kowanyama, Lockhart River, Longreach, Mackay, Mareeba, McKinlay, Mornington, Mount Isa, Palm Island, Pormpuraaw, Richmond, Torres Strait Island, Torres Shire, Townsville, Whitsunday, Winton, Wujal Wujal and Yarrabah.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au and the Queensland Government’s Disaster Management website at www.disaster.qld.gov.au.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.