Dr Lisa Szabo honoured for her contribution to Australia’s food safety industry

Lisa accepting her award

Director of Food Safety & Food Authority CEO, Dr Lisa Szabo, has been awarded the 2020 Australian Institute of Food Science and Technology (AIFST) President’s Award in recognition of her service to the Institute.

NSW Department of Primary Industries (DPI) Deputy Director General Biosecurity & Food Safety, Dr John Tracey, has congratulated Dr Szabo and acknowledged her role in delivering safe food production in NSW from paddock to plate and maximising consumer choice and safety.

“Dr Lisa Szabo has served the people of NSW for over 14 years and has shown outstanding food regulatory leadership by using scientific evidence, operational information, industry and community impact to develop policy, legislative solutions, and interventions” said Dr Tracey.

“Today, Lisa is one of the most highly respected members of Australia’s food safety community and has made a significant contribution to the safety of food and the reputation of Australian produce.

“Lisa has helped steer NSW through a number of critical pieces of work. From risk managing dioxins in Sydney Harbour to reducing the rates of human illness caused by Salmonella in NSW by 30%.”

The AIFST President’s Award recognizes, acknowledges and acclaims an individual or an organisation that has made an outstanding contribution to the Institute.

The AIFST is the only national independent voice and network for Australia’s food industry professionals.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.