Members appointed to Keep Australia Beautiful Council WA

Members will represent various areas of interest until the end of 2024

  • Experienced chair Michael Aspinall remains at the helm of the council
  • Environment Minister Reece Whitby is pleased to announce the appointment of members to the Keep Australia Beautiful Council (KABC) WA.

    KABC provides leadership in litter prevention and reduction in Western Australia. The council works to change the attitudes and behaviours of the community for a litter-free WA using community awareness and engagement, education, legislation, and enforcement strategies to achieve this goal.

    Keep Australia Beautiful Week runs from next Monday 15 August until 21 August. The campaign raises awareness about how everybody can reduce environmental impact and encourage action to reduce litter.

    The council members together with their areas of interest are listed below:

    • Chairperson Mr Michael Aspinall – Mr Aspinall brings more than a decade of experience as a councillor and member of the WA Local Government Association (WALGA). He is a retired Shire President for the Shire of Gingin. Mr Aspinall has a long-standing interest in waste management issues, including litter prevention and was a member of WALGA’s Municipal Waste Advisory Council;
    • Ms Rebecca Brown as member representing WALGA – Regional;
    • Mr Don Burnett as member representing WALGA – Metropolitan;
    • Ms Danielle Cattalini as member representing the interests of consumers;
    • Mr Des DuGuid as member representing the Department of Education;
    • Ms Nina Hewson as member representing the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries;
    • Mr Jason Menzies as member representing the Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions;
    • Ms Christine Parfitt as member representing the Conservation Council WA Inc; and
    • Mr Jonathan Phillips as member representing Unions WA.

    As stated by Environment Minister Reece Whitby:

    “I thank Michael Aspinall for continuing his role as KABC chair. His wealth of experience in litter prevention will continue to be of great benefit to the council.

    “I want to acknowledge the outstanding contributions of Ms Genette Keating, who represented the interests of consumers for 21 years, and Mr Howard Flinders, who represented the Department of Education for 14 years.

    “Ms Lisa Fanciulli represented the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries for the previous three-year term, and I acknowledge her significant commitment to supporting litter prevention in WA

    “I welcome new and returning KABC members and know they will contribute invaluable expertise to litter reduction strategies across our beautiful State.”

    /Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.