UWA finalists in Western Australian of Year Awards

Prime Minister’s Prize for Science winner Emeritus Professor Cheryl Praeger is among 16 staff, students and graduates at The University of Western Australia to be named as a finalist in the 2021 Western Australian of the Year Awards. Winners will be announced on Friday 4 June.

The Western Australian of the Year Awards recognise and celebrate the outstanding contribution of Western Australians to our State, who have made an extraordinary impact in a range of fields over the past two years.

UWA finalists

Aboriginal award – Sponsored by Wesfarmers

  • Adjunct Professor Juli Coffin, researcher at Telethon Kids Institute and UWA Centre for Child Health Research

Arts and culture award – Sponsored by Woodside Energy

  • Adjunct Associate Professor and Honorary Doctorate recipient Alec Coles (OBE DLitt ’17)
  • Dr Iain Grandage, Artistic Director of the Perth Festival (BMus ’94, DMus ’17)

Business award – Sponsored by APM

  • Nathan Bennett, Executive Director of the Perth Festival

Community award – Sponsored by Alcoa of Australia

  • Clinical Associate Professor Chan Yoon Cheah, UWA Medical School (MBBS ’04)
  • Dr Richard Goyder AO, graduate (BCom ’83, DCom ’11)
  • Leigh Andrew Hill, graduate (BA ’15)

Professions award – Sponsored by HBF

  • Emeritus Professor Cheryl Praeger AC, UWA School of Physics, Mathematics and Computing (DSc ’89; staff)
  • Professor Jonathan Carapetis AM, Head of UWA Centre for Child Health Research and Executive Director at Telethon Kids Institute
  • Professor Chemmangot Nayar, graduate (PhD ’86)
  • Professor Michael Henderson, Honorary Fellow, UWA Medical School

Youth award – Sponsored by BHP

  • Rhiannon Clarke, UWA Bachelor of Science student
  • Sukhjit Kaur Khalsa, graduate (BA ’15)
  • Dr Hayley Passmore, Telethon Kids Institute researcher, graduate (PhD ’20)
  • Yarlalu Thomas, UWA Medical School student
  • Kendall Whyte, graduate (BSc ’15, Grad Cert Bus ’19)

/University Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.