2021 LHCb prize winners

home.cern,Experiments and Tracks
Tom Boettcher. (Image: CERN)

home.cern,Experiments and Tracks
Dmitrii Pereima. (Image: CERN)

The winners of the 2021 LHCb thesis prize are Tom Boettcher (MIT) and Dmitrii Pereima (Kurchatov Institute, Moscow). Tom’s thesis is on the LHCb GPU high-level trigger and measurements of neutral pion and photon production with the LHCb detector, and he was particularly commended for his contributions to the novel GPU-based first-level trigger of LHCb Upgrade I. Dmitrii’s thesis is on the search for new decays of beauty particles at the LHCb experiment, and he made significant contributions to our understanding of the X(3872) particle and the calibration of the hadronic calorimeter.

Six sets of prizes were awarded to early-career scientists: Scott Ely (Syracuse) was recognised for his leadership in the UT project; Preema Rennee Pais (CERN) was recognised for her contributions to the ST, SciFi and upgrade commissioning; Nicole Skidmore (Manchester) was recognised for her developments of offline software and data preparation; Adam Davis (Manchester) and Benedetto Siddi (INFN, Ferrara) were recognised for their innovative contributions to simulation; and Christoph Hasse (CERN), Arthur Hennequin (CERN), Louis Henry (CERN) and Niklas Nolte (MIT) were recognised for their developments of the software trigger.

Many congratulations to all the winners!

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.