HKUST Holds Sixth Inauguration Ceremony of Named Professorships

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) held the Sixth Inauguration Ceremony of Named Professorships today to honor eight outstanding faculty members and their donors.

Officiating at the ceremony, HKUST Council Chairman the Hon. Andrew LIAO Cheung-Sing said, “Every year, the University’s Named Professorships program attracts and retains globally recognized scholars working on increasingly challenging and diverse topics – in line with HKUST’s efforts to promote innovative research across the borders of science and engineering, business, humanities, and social sciences. I extend my most sincere gratitude to our donors and my warmest congratulations to the 2022 cohort of HKUST Named Professors – the latest torch-bearers for the University’s unrelenting pursuit of academic excellence.”

HKUST President Prof. Wei SHYY also congratulated the appointed faculty members and thanked the donors’ generous contribution. “Since the program’s launch in 2013, we have awarded the title of Named Professor to more than 50 eminent faculty members, whose award-winning research and inspiring teaching are shaping a better world for future generations. We express our heartfelt gratitude to the donors who have supported HKUST over the years-particularly those who have given the gift of a professorship. Thanks to their generosity, we are able to recognize, reward, and retain intellectual leaders in a wide spectrum of disciplines and support our faculty members and the University as a whole in scaling new heights.”

The expertise of the eight named professors covers a wide spectrum of research areas including particle physics, computational materials science, material physics, stem cell biology, quantum simulation, cancer genomics, data science, as well as sales and marketing innovation.

The professorships were made possible by donations given to HKUST from long-standing contributors to higher education including Shun Hing Education and Charity Fund, Kerry Holdings Limited, Dr the Hon. Hari Harilela and Mrs Padma Harilela, Otto Poon Charitable Foundation and anonymous contributors, and by funds set aside by the University.

Among the officiating guests at the Inauguration Ceremony were HKUST Council Chairman the Hon. Andrew LIAO Cheung-Sing, President Prof. Wei SHYY and other senior management. Donors and their representatives also attended the ceremony, including Ms. Vinita CHONG, Mr. Thomas LUI, Dr. Aron HARILELA, Miss Pat POON and Mrs. Teresa CHAN.

The named professors are:

IAS Paul C W Chu Professor

Prof. Kam-Biu LUK, HKUST Jockey Club Institute for Advanced Study (IAS)

Dr William M W Mong Professor of Nanoscience

Prof. Xi DAI, School of Science

Wu Chien-Shiung Professor of Science

Prof. Jiannong WANG, School of Science

Kerry Holdings Professor of Science

Prof. Ting XIE, School of Science

Hari Harilela Associate Professor of Physics

Prof. Gyu-Boong JO, School of Science

Padma Harilela Associate Professor of Life Science

Prof. Jiguang WANG, School of Science

Otto Poon Professor of Engineering

Prof. Xiaofang ZHOU, School of Engineering

Yuk-Shee Chan Professor of Business

Prof. Mengze SHI, School of Business and Management

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.