Learning Development team win National Teaching Excellence Award

Lancaster’s Learning Development team has received national acclaim for its outstanding work in supporting the academic development of students.

The team won a prestigious Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) for impact on learning and teaching, having been selected as Lancaster’s institutional nomination for the national awards earlier in 2022.

Only a small number of CATE national awards are issued each year by Advance HE, and it is the first time that a team from Lancaster has won.

Professor Wendy Robinson, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education, said: “This award reflects the excellent work of our team of Learning Developers who make positive differences to our students’ academic experience every single day.

“To receive this accolade is evidence that the team are not only a hugely important source of support for our students at Lancaster, but demonstrates that their approach is sector-leading. It is a truly fantastic achievement.”

The award celebrates the distinctive and impactful approach of the Learning Development team, characterised by the creation of safe, inclusive spaces where transformational learning can take place, and engaging with students wherever they are in their learning.

Nel Boswood, the Head of Learning Development, said: “We are truly honoured to be receiving a CATE award.

“Collaboration with students and colleagues is at the heart of everything we do as a team.

“The award validates our approach and highlights the positive impact on the learning experiences of our students at Lancaster.”

The Learning Development team CATE awards winners are:

  • Helen Boswood, Head of Learning Development
  • Jan Lyons, Administrator
  • Dr Helen Hargreaves, Learning Developer and Coordinator, English for Academic Purposes
  • Dr Ruth Byrne, Learning Developer, English for Academic Purposes
  • Dr Anna Karapiperi, Learning Developer and Coordinator, Maths and Stats Hub (MASH)
  • Dr Helen Berrington, Learning Developer, Lancaster University Management School, MASH
  • Dr Lefteris Kastis, Learning Developer, Faculties of Science and Technology, Health and Medicine, MASH
  • Rebecca Howarth, Learning Developer, Lancaster University Management School UG
  • Dr Sarah Robin, Learning Developer, Lancaster University Management School PG
  • Joanne Wood, Learning Developer, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
  • Dr Louise Innes, Learning Developer, Faculty of Science and Technology
  • Dr Beth Caldwell, Learning Developer, Faculty of Health and Medicine
  • Rayhana Gajaria and Josh Chatfield, Student Representatives, Leading Lights
  • Lorrae Fox, Student Representative, Writing Mentors
  • Amin Yarahmadi, Student Representative, Maths and Stats Hub tutors

Pictured above: Front row (left-to-right) Nel Boswood, Anna Karapiperi, Ruth Byrne, Helen Berrington. Middle row: Helen Hargreaves, Sarah Robin, Louise Innes, Rebecca Howarth. Back row: Jan Lyons, Joanne Wood, Lefteris Kastis, Beth Caldwell.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.