New Councillors named

Caption: Corangamite Shire’s newly announced Councillors-Elect, from left Geraldine Conheady (Central Ward), Jo Beard (South Central), Ruth Gstrein (Central), Laurie Hickey (Central), Kate Makin (South West), Nick Cole (North) and Jamie Vogels (Coastal).

Nick Cole, Laurie Hickey, Kate Makin and Jamie Vogels will be sworn in as new Corangamite Shire Councillors on Tuesday.

They will join Jo Beard, Geraldine Conheady and Ruth Gstrein who were all re-elected to rep-resent their communities for the next four years.

The Victorian Electoral Commission declared the final election results today at the Killara Centre in Camperdown.

Corangamite Shire Chief Executive Andrew Mason congratulated the Councillors-Elect and thanked all of the candidates who had nominated.

“It’s always an exciting time to get new councillors,” Mr Mason said.

“We appreciate that it’s a really big commitment for them to make. It’s a really important part of the local democratic process.

“I’m happy that the election process went smoothly in challenging times.

“The staff and I are looking forward to working with the new Council.”

The first meeting of the new Council will be live streamed on Council’s website and Facebook page on Tuesday 10 November at 5pm.

The Councillors-Elect will take the oath of office, set the Mayoral term, and elect a Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

The next scheduled Meeting of Council will be on Tuesday 24 November.


Central Ward:

  • Ruth Gstrein
  • Geraldine Conheady
  • Laurie Hickey

North Ward:

  • Nick Cole.

South Central Ward:

  • Jo Beard

South West Ward:

  • Kate Makin

Coastal Ward:

  • Jamie Vogels

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.