New Kingston Council announced

New Kingston Council announced

Results for the 2020 Kingston Council elections have been declared by the Victorian Electoral Commission, with five councillors re-elected and six new faces joining the expanded 11-member Council.

Following the introduction of the Local Government Act 2020, a new ward system came into effect with the City of Kingston’s three wards, North, Central and South Wards, replaced with 11 single-member wards.

The Victorian Electoral Commission, which conducted the elections, officially declared the results at 9.30am on Wednesday 11 November.

The successful candidates were:

Banksia ward – Cameron Howe

Bunjil ward – Steve Staikos

Caruana ward – George Hua

Chicquita ward – Tracey Davies

Como ward – Chris Hill

Karkarook ward – Hadi Saab

Longbeach ward – Georgina Oxley

Melaleuca ward – Tim Cochrane

Sandpiper ward – David Eden

Wattle ward – Jenna Davey-Burns

Yammerbook ward – Tamsin Bearsley

City of Kingston CEO Julie Reid congratulated the newly-elected Councillors.

“I want to welcome our new Councillors and congratulate those who have been re-elected to Council,” said Ms Reid. “I’m looking forward to working with all of them to do great things for Kingston over the next 4 years.”

The new Kingston Council will serve the community for a four-year term until October 2024.

The Councillors will be sworn in and elect a Mayor and consider the office of Deputy Mayor at a Council meeting on Wednesday 18 November at 7.00pm.

News Listing

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.