New Labor Ministry To Focus On Jobs

  • Premier

Three new members of Cabinet have today been sworn in, with Natalie Hutchins, Shaun Leane and Danny Pearson joining the Andrews Labor Government Ministry.

Formerly Minister for the Prevention of Family Violence, Natalie Hutchins will again be a determined voice on behalf of victim survivors, taking up the portfolios of Victim Support and delivering the Government’s reform agenda in Corrections, Youth Justice, and Crime Prevention.

Having spent his parliamentary career representing communities in the outer east, Shaun Leane will ensure our growing suburbs have the services and infrastructure they need as Minister for Suburban Development. As Minister for Local Government, he will support local councils as they grapple with the pandemic, and as the son of a World War II veteran, he’ll also bring his very real personal connection to the portfolio of Minister for Veterans.

As Assistant Treasurer and Minister for Regulatory Reform, Danny Pearson will work closely with the Treasurer to deliver the Budget, oversee government shared services and bring clarity and coordination to the government’s regulatory structure. As Minister for Government Services, he will oversee the public sector, cyber security and citizen digital transaction reform.

Six months into the coronavirus pandemic, the role of government in supporting business and industry has never been more important. Martin Pakula will take on the key portfolio of Industry Support and Recovery – helping Victorian businesses navigate restrictions and restart their operations in a COVIDsafe economy, and delivering targeted support for our key job-creating sectors.

Recognising their importance to our state’s ability to grow new jobs, Minister Pakula will also take responsibility for the development of the Docklands precinct, Fishermans Bend and the Footscray precinct as part of the new Business Precincts portfolio. He will continue his work in the portfolios of Trade, Tourism, Sport and Major Events, and Racing.

Ben Carroll will step into the frontline roles of Minister for Public Transport and Minister for Roads and Road Safety, continuing to ensure we have the reliable and integrated transport network we need to get Victorians home safer and sooner.

Jaala Pulford takes up a critical role in creating jobs and overseeing Working for Victoria as Minister for Employment. Highlighting the importance of research and discovery to our economic recovery, she will also serve as Minister for Innovation, Medical Research and the Digital Economy, and ensure our largest sector has a strong voice in government as Minister for Small Business.

Melissa Horne will serve as the Minister for Consumer Affairs, Gaming and Liquor Regulation and Minister for Fishing and Boating, in addition to continuing her vital work in maintaining our reputation as the freight and logistics capital of Australia, as Minister for Ports and Freight.

In addition to her role as Minister for Transport Infrastructure, Jacinta Allan will lead the delivery of our biggest public transport project and reshape our suburbs as the Minister for the Suburban Rail Loop. She will also continue to oversee Development Victoria and the key transport precincts of Arden, Sunshine and the Richmond to Flinders Street corridor.

Victoria is facing an unprecedented challenge as we begin the recovery from coronavirus. This is the strong, dedicated and determined team to get us through to the other side.

Andrews Ministry | June 2020

Daniel AndrewsPremier
James MerlinoDeputy Premier

Minister for the Coordination of Education and Training – COVID-19

Minister for Education

Jaclyn SymesLeader of the Government in the Legislative Council

Minister for Regional Development

Minister for Agriculture

Minister for Resources

Jenny MikakosDeputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council

Minister for the Coordination of Health and Human Services – COVID-19

Minister for Health

Minister for Ambulance Services

Tim PallasMinister for the Coordination of Treasury and Finance – COVID-19


Minister for Industrial Relations

Minister for Economic Development

Jacinta AllanLeader of the House

Minister for the Coordination of Transport – COVID-19

Minister for Transport Infrastructure

Minister for the Suburban Rail Loop

Ben CarrollMinister for Public Transport

Minister for Roads and Road Safety

Lily D’AmbrosioMinister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change

Minister for Solar Homes

Luke DonnellanMinister for Child Protection

Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers

Martin FoleyMinister for Mental Health

Minister for Equality

Minister for Creative Industries

Jill HennessyMinister for the Coordination of Justice and Community Safety – COVID-19


Minister for Workplace Safety

Melissa HorneMinister for Consumer Affairs, Gaming and Liquor Regulation

Minister for Ports and Freight

Minister for Fishing and Boating

Natalie HutchinsMinister for Crime Prevention

Minister for Corrections

Minister for Youth Justice

Minister for Victim Support

Shaun LeaneMinister for Local Government

Minister for Suburban Development

Minister for Veterans

Lisa NevilleMinister for the Coordination of Environment, Land, Water and Planning – COVID-19

Minister for Water

Minister for Police and Emergency Services

Martin PakulaMinister for the Coordination of Jobs, Precincts and Regions – COVID 19

Minister for Industry Support and Recovery

Minister for Trade

Minister for Business Precincts

Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events

Minister for Racing

Danny PearsonAssistant Treasurer

Minister for Regulatory Reform

Minister for Government Services

Jaala PulfordMinister for Employment

Minister for Innovation, Medical Research and the Digital Economy

Minister for Small Business

Ros SpenceMinister for Multicultural Affairs

Minister for Community Sport

Minister for Youth

Gayle TierneyMinister for Skills and Training

Minister for Higher Education

Gabrielle WilliamsMinister for Aboriginal Affairs

Minister for Prevention of Family Violence

Minister for Women

Richard WynneMinister for Housing

Minister for Planning

Parliamentary Secretaries

Steve DimopoulosParliamentary Secretary to the Premier
Josh BullParliamentary Secretary for Multicultural Affairs

Parliamentary Secretary for Youth

Anthony CarbinesParliamentary Secretary for Health

Parliamentary Secretary for Carers

Nick StaikosParliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer
Paul EdbrookeParliamentary Secretary for Police and Emergency Services

Parliamentary Secretary for Bushfire Recovery

Jane GarrettParliamentary Secretary for Jobs
Danielle GreenParliamentary Secretary for Sport

Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Victoria

Bronwyn HalfpennyParliamentary Secretary for Workplace Safety
Sonya KilkennyParliamentary Secretary for Early Childhood Education
Frank McGuireParliamentary Secretary for Crime Prevention

Parliamentary Secretary for Medical Research

Cesar MelhemParliamentary Secretary for Skills and Training
Tim RichardsonParliamentary Secretary for Schools
Harriet ShingParliamentary Secretary for Mental Health

Parliamentary Secretary for Creative Industries

Parliamentary Secretary for Equality

Vicki WardParliamentary Secretary for Transport

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.