Outstanding community initiatives recognised in local government awards

Dept of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications

The Australian Government is celebrating 11 category winners for the 2022 National Awards for Local Government by recognising the outstanding achievements of Australia's local governments today.

Quotes attributable to Member for Eden-Monaro and Minister for Regional Development, Local Government and Territories, the Hon Kristy McBain MP:

"I am proud to congratulate all category winners and commend all nominees for this year's National Awards for Local Government.

"The high standard of entries this year is a testament to the hard work of local governments who have ensured positive, quality outcomes are achieved in their communities nationwide.

"The tireless efforts of our local governments to overcome barriers faced this year such as floods, bushfires and COVID-19, and develop new initiatives that deliver remarkable outcomes for their communities, are incredible.

"The winners of this year's awards have undoubtedly created stronger, more cohesive communities, from ensuring ongoing collaboration with Indigenous Australians right through to reducing road injuries and fatalities by adopting new road safety technology."

The category award winners for 2022 are:

  • Moorabool Shire Council (Victoria) for its Hide + Seek Music Festival project, in the Creativity and Culture category
  • Sunshine Coast Council (Queensland) for its Sunshine Coast Mobility Map - Connecting Community Infrastructure project, in the Productivity through Infrastructure category
  • Moreton Bay Regional Council (QLD) for its Moreton Bay City project, in the Regional Growth category
  • City of Canning (Western Australia) for its Hillview Intercultural Community Centre project, in the Cohesive Communities category
  • Mitchell Shire Council (VIC) for its School Crossing SafetyCam Initiative, in the Road Safety category
  • City of Belmont (WA) for its Belmont Safeguarding Families Advocacy Service, in the Addressing Violence Against Women and their Children category
  • Bathurst Regional Council (New South Wales) for its River Connections project, in the Indigenous Recognition category
  • Broken Hill City Council (NSW), for showcasing female leader - Kathryn Graham, in the Women in Local Government category
  • Broken Hill City Council (NSW) for its outstanding trainee - Katelyn Schenk, in the Career Starter category
  • City of Vincent (WA) for its What the FOGO? We've got a Better Bin System sorted! project, in the Waste Management category
  • Ipswich City Council (QLD) for its Forewarned is forearmed - Ipswich Integrated Catchment Plan project, in the Disaster Preparedness category

Established in 1986, the National Awards for Local Government recognise the innovation and commitment of councils to make a real difference in their local communities.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.