Withdrawal Agreement Specialised Committee meeting on UK Sovereign Base Areas in Cyprus Joint UK-EU statement

Joint UK-EU statement following the third meeting of the Withdrawal Agreement Specialised Committee on issues related to the implementation of the Protocol on the Sovereign Base Areas of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland in Cyprus:

The third meeting of the Specialised Committee on the Protocol on Sovereign Base Areas was held yesterday, 30 December via video conference, co-chaired by officials from the European Commission and the UK Government. The Committee was established by the Withdrawal Agreement to facilitate the implementation and application of the Protocol.

The UK and the EU discussed the remaining issues relating to the implementation of the Protocol, which shall enter into effect at the end of the Transition Period, and reaffirmed their continued commitment to its smooth implementation.

The co-chairs noted the progress made and agreed to meet during the first quarter of 2021 to review the operational phase of the implementation of the Protocol on island.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.