Youth and experience enrich Gold Coast Hospital and Health Board

Minister for Health and Ambulance Services The Honourable Yvette D'Ath

A nationally recognised charity founder, a world-leading chronic disease researcher, and an experienced accountant are the latest appointees to the Gold Coast Hospital and Health Board.

Lucas Patchett, Professor Nicholas Zwar and Peter Dowling are the newest members of the nine-person board.

Existing members Professor Judith Searle and Colette McCool have also been reappointed.

Minister for Health and Ambulance Services Yvette D’Ath said Professor Zwar and Mr Dowling had a wealth of experience working in leadership roles while Mr Patchett had established a successful charity at just 20 years old.

“I’d like to welcome them all to the Gold Coast Hospital and Health Board,” Minister D’Ath said.

“Mr Patchett co-founded Orange Sky Laundry, a free mobile laundry service for homeless people, in 2014. Their service has expanded to five regions across Australia and has over 270 volunteers who wash over 350 loads a week. He was deservedly named 2016 Young Australian of the Year.

“Professor Zwar has a strong background in medicine as a general practitioner, researcher and teacher. He has a national and international reputation as a researcher of health issues including the prevention and management of respiratory and cardiovascular diseases.

“A former partner with Ernst & Young, Mr Dowling is an accomplished accountant and company director. He is a Centenary of Federation Medal recipient and was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 2007 for services to accountancy and the community.

“We’re very fortunate to have such experienced and dedicated professionals on the Gold Coast Hospital and Health Board. I know that they will work hard to ensure Gold Coast residents continue to receive excellent health services.”

Gold Coast Hospital and Health Board’s members are:

  • Mr Ian Langdon (Chair)
  • Professor Nicholas Zwar
  • Mr Peter Dowling AM
  • Mr Lucas Patchett OAM
  • Professor Judy Searle
  • Ms Colette McCool
  • Professor Cindy Shannon
  • Ms Teresa Dyson
  • Mr Michael Kinnane

The 16 boards throughout Queensland are responsible under the Hospital and Health Boards Act 2011 for local performance of their health service and the delivery of public health services within their communities.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.