Disaster assistance extended for flood-affected individuals and small businesses

Additional disaster assistance is now available for small businesses in six north-west Queensland flood-impacted communities, and affected individuals and families in Carpentaria Shire and the township of Winton.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-Queensland Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Assistant Minister for Home Affairs Senator the Hon. Linda Reynolds and Queensland Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Craig Crawford said the additional assistance was vital for individuals, families and small businesses left devastated by the floods.

“Not only have primary producers in these areas been hit hard, but so have many businesses and organisations,” Assistant Minister Reynolds said.

“Eligible small business owners in Burke, Carpentaria, Charters Towers, Croydon, Etheridge and Winton can now access disaster assistance loans of up to $250,000 to repair or replace damaged buildings, equipment or stock and concessional loans of up to $100,000 to continue business operations.

“Small businesses play essential roles in rural and remote areas and it is crucial they receive the assistance they need to get back on their feet.

“In addition, communities in Carpentaria and the township of Winton are able to access emergency hardship assistance payments of up to $180 for individuals and up to $900 for a family of five or more for food, clothing, emergency accommodation or medical supplies.”

Minister Crawford said assistance would continue to be made available to the communities and sectors that needed it the most.

“As the impacts of these floods expand, the Queensland Government will continue to work with the Commonwealth to provide impacted communities with the assistance they need,” Minister Crawford said.

“I am pleased extra help is now available across these local government areas to help individuals, families and small businesses recover.

“We are standing with Queenslanders as they plan their long road to recovery and are working closely with the Commonwealth to ensure their needs are met every step of the way.”

A range of DRFA assistance is now available in 35 local government areas in northern and western Queensland: Barcoo, Boulia, Burdekin, Burke, Cairns, Carpentaria, Cassowary Coast, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Cook, Croydon, Diamantina, Douglas, Etheridge, Flinders, Hinchinbrook, Hope Vale, Kowanyama, Lockhart River, Longreach, Mackay, Mareeba, McKinlay, Mornington, Mount Isa, Palm Island, Pormpuraaw, Richmond, Torres Strait Island, Torres Shire, Townsville, Whitsunday, Winton, Wujal Wujal and Yarrabah.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au and the Queensland Government’s Disaster Management website at www.disaster.qld.gov.au.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.