Awards & Accolades 3 December

Zubair W. Baloch, MD, PhD, a professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, has received the American Society of Cytopathology 2022 President’s Award in recognition of his contributions to the society. He has been a member since 1997 and previously served on the executive board and the chair of the Scientific Program Committee.

César de la Fuente

César de la Fuente, PhD

César de la Fuente, PhD, a Presidential Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Microbiology, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, and Bioengineering, has been honored with the Molecules 2022 Young Investigator Award on Nov. 3, 2022. De la Fuente was selected for his pioneering research work across antibiotic discovery, synthetic biology, and computational biology.

Virginia Man-Yee Lee

Virginia Man-Yee Lee, PhD

Virginia Man-Yee Lee, PhD, a professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, has been named a 2022 Clarivate Citation Laureate for her contribution to the identification of TDP-43, a pathological signature of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and frontotemporal lobar degeneration, and for other contributions to the study of neurodegenerative diseases. Citation Laureates are selected for their highly cited and influential research, based on Web of Science™ citation data.

Bruce Levine

Bruce Levine, PhD

Bruce Levine, PhD, a professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, has been selected as the Precision Medicine World Conference 2023 Luminary Award Honoree for Gene-modified Cell Therapies for his pioneering work in cancer immunotherapies that led to the first FDA-approved gene therapy for leukemia and lymphoma. The award recognizes the recent contributions of prominent figures who have accelerated precision medicine into the clinic.

Donald L. Siegel

Donald L. Siegel, MD, PhD

Donald L. Siegel, MD, PhD, a professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, was named the 2022 Inductee of the National Blood Foundation (NBF) Hall of Fame from the Association for the Advancement of Blood & Biotherapies (AABB) in honor of his accomplishments in immunohematology, hemostasis/thrombosis, autoimmunity, and oncology since receiving an AABB Foundation grant in 1991. The award recognizes grant recipients who leveraged their early-career grant funding into successful careers in transfusion medicine or biotherapies and who demonstrated exemplary leadership within the field.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.