Improving sustainability on World Environment Day

Roger Jaensch,Minister for Education, Children and Youth

The Tasmanian Liberal Government is committed to protecting our unique environment, reducing waste and creating a circular economy, and taking action on sustainability and climate change. But we are always looking for innovative ways to do more.

Initiatives such as the 2022 Keep Australia Beautiful Australia (KABTas) Sustainable Schools Grants Program play a significant role in educating and engaging the next generation of leaders about improving sustainability, as well as harnessing their creativity and ideas for our environment.

Celebrated annually on June 5, World Environment Day encourages awareness and action for the protection of the environment and it is a privilege to announce the 15 successful grant recipients on this important day.

Congratulations to Bayview and King Island Secondary Schools, Huonville, East Derwent, Latrobe, Molesworth, Montagu Bay, Strahan and Windermere Primary Schools, North West Christian School and North West Support School, St Marys College and also two Child and Family Learning Centres, Break O’Day and Burnie.

Selected from a strong field of 33 competing schools, most of the schools who received funding want to improve their gardening, composting and recycling facilities.

Innovation was also a highlight among recipients, with Flinders Island District High School students set to learn beekeeping and North West Christian School creating worm farms.

I would also like to thank Keep Australia Beautiful Tasmania and program sponsor Hydro Tasmania for their work and dedication to improving sustainability in schools and this program.

We look forward to seeing the progress of these activities with successful schools expected to report on the progress of their projects later in the year.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.