New Council portfolios and committees announced

New portfolios have been adopted by the 2020 Greater Geelong Council, leading to councillors being appointed to the chair and deputy chair roles within each portfolio.

The new portfolios are outlined as follows:

PortfolioChairDeputy Chair
Aboriginal AffairsCouncillor Jim MasonCouncillor Sarah Mansfield
Arts, Live Entertainment and HospitalityCouncillor Eddy KonteljCouncillor Peter Murrihy and Councillor Kylie Grzybek
Circular Economy (Waste Management) Councillor Belinda MoloneyCouncillor Sarah Mansfield
Citizenship and Community Engagement Councillor Anthony AitkenCouncillor Jim Mason
City Works, Parks and GardensCouncillor Anthony AitkenCouncillor Belinda Moloney
Climate Change ActionCouncillor Belinda MoloneyCouncillor Sarah Mansfield
Community Health and Aged CareCouncillor Sarah Mansfield Councillor Belinda Moloney
Creative Communities and Culture Deputy Mayor Trent SullivanCouncillor Jim Mason
Diversity, Inclusion and LGBTIQ+ Councillor Sarah Mansfield Councillor Jim Mason
Economic Development Councillor Peter Murrihy Councillor Bruce Harwood
Environment Councillor Jim MasonCouncillor Belinda Moloney
Finance (including Civic Accommodation) Councillor Anthony AitkenMayor Stephanie Asher
Heritage Councillor Peter Murrihy Councillor Belinda Moloney
Innovative SolutionsCouncillor Peter MurrihyCouncillor Sarah Mansfield
Leisure and RecreationCouncillor Peter Murrihy Councillor Jim Mason
Major EventsCouncillor Ron Nelson Deputy Mayor Trent Sullivan
Multicultural AffairsCouncillor Jim MasonCouncillor Belinda Moloney
Osborne House Councillor Eddy KonteljCouncillor Anthony Aitken
Rural and CoastalCouncillor Jim MasonCouncillor Belinda Moloney
Shared TrailsCouncillor Jim Mason Councillor Kylie Grzybek
Social HousingCouncillor Sarah Mansfield Councillor Anthony Aitken
SportCouncillor Ron Nelson Councillor Bruce Harwood
Statutory and Strategic PlanningCouncillor Kylie GrzybekCouncillor Bruce Harwood
Sustainability PerformanceMayor Stephanie AsherCouncillor Belinda Moloney
TourismDeputy Mayor Trent SullivanCouncillor Peter Murrihy
TransportCouncillor Bruce Harwood Councillor Sarah Mansfield
Veterans AffairsCouncillor Eddy Kontelj Councillor Ron Nelson
Volunteering and DisabilityCouncillor Anthony AitkenCouncillor Belinda Moloney

Councillors have also been appointed to council committees and as council’s representatives to external committees, boards, associations and forums.

Mayor Stephanie Asher

The new council group had identified new areas of strategic focus since portfolios were established by the previous council.

The portfolios have been expanded and aligned with councillors’ passions, strengths and preferences,” Mayor Asher said.

Each chair and deputy chair are determined to strongly advocate on behalf of council’s key priorities, engage with stakeholders and keep up to date with issues and activities as part of their roles.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.