Super Rugby Trans-Tasman kick off times and locations confirmed for 2021

Kick off times and locations for the 2021 Super Rugby Trans-Tasman draw have today been confirmed, with 25 regular season matches set to be played out across a blockbuster inaugural tournament.

Following on from the Super Rugby AU season, the five Australian sides will take on their New Zealand rivals in a home and away format, reigniting rivalries as the Trans-Tasman partnership takes off in a historic new direction.

All 26 matches in the tournament will be live and on-demand, ad-free, as part of a new add-on sports package which will become available on Stan in 2021.A selected match during each week of the tournament will also be simulcast live free-to-air on the Nine Network.

Kicking off on 14 May 2021, the Queensland Reds will take on the Highlanders in Dunedin before the Waratahs take on the Hurricanes in the opening match on Australian shores.

Following this, all eyes will shift to Saturday for a broadcast triple header commencing at 5:05pm when the 2020 Australian conference champions, the Brumbies take on New Zealand favourites, the Crusaders in Christchurch. This will be followed by the Rebels hosting their first match against the Blues in Melbourne for the first time in three years, having not lost to the Auckland based side since 2017. The opening weekend of Trans-Tasman Rugby will then culminate with the Force, hosting the Chiefs at HBF Park.

The 2021 format will see all teams play in two home and two away matches, allowing fans to see their side in action against international opposition for the first time since the competition’s suspension in 2020.Fans will be able to return to all their favourite Super Rugby venues with Australian teams defending their home turf of AAMI Park (Melbourne), Suncorp Stadium (Brisbane), HBF Park (Perth) and GIO Stadium (Canberra), while the Waratahs will look to confirm their venues in the near future.

Additionally, Super Rugby Trans-Tasman will also see the incorporation of a ‘Super Round’ which will take place in round three. Super Round will see all teams play in one central location, over the one weekend, making for a mini-World Cup like experience for the first time in the history of the competition, again giving fans unprecedented access to the World’s best Rugby.

After the completion of the regular season, the two top-placed teams on the combined competition table will play out in a winner takes all final which will be played on Saturday the 19th June.

Rugby Australia Interim Chief Executive, Rob Clarke said: “The confirmation of the draw is another step in the right direction for our game and it’s exciting to see all the pieces come together.

“It’s a brand-new competition which will generate renewed excitement and re-ignite many historic rivalries.

“The Super Round is a fantastic and innovative addition; we will shortly be launching a host selection process and I have no doubt it will become one of the hottest tickets in town.

“I’d again like to thank Mark Robinson and his team at New Zealand Rugby for working so closely with us and I can’t wait to see it kick off in 2021.” Clarke said.

2021 Super Rugby Trans-Tasman draw*

Round One

Highlanders v Queensland Reds, Friday 14 May, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin, 5:05pm

NSW Waratahs v Hurricanes, Friday 14 May, TBC, 7:45pm

Crusaders v Brumbies, Saturday 15 May, Orangetheory Stadium, Christchurch, 5:05pm

Melbourne Rebels v Blues, Saturday 15 May, AAMI Park, Melbourne, 7:45pm

Western Force v Chiefs, Saturday 15 May, HBF Park, Perth, 9:55pm

Round Two

Hurricanes v Melbourne Rebels, Friday 21 May, Sky Stadium, Wellington, 5:05pm

Western Force v Highlanders, Friday 21 May, HBF Park, Perth, 7:45pm

Blues v NSW Waratahs, Saturday 22 May, Eden Park, Auckland, 2:35pm

Chiefs v Brumbies, Saturday 22 May, FMG Stadium, Hamilton, 5:05pm

Queensland Reds v Crusaders, Saturday 22 May, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, 7:45pm

Round Three – Super Round^

Brumbies v Blues

Hurricanes v Western Force

Melbourne Rebels v Highlanders

Queensland Reds v Chiefs

NSW Waratahs v Crusaders

Round Four

Crusaders v Western Force, Friday 4 June, Orangetheory Stadium, Christchurch, 5:05pm

Queensland Reds v Blues, Friday 4 June, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, 7:45pm

Chiefs v Melbourne Rebels, Saturday 5 June, FMG Stadium, Hamilton, 2:35pm

Highlanders v NSW Waratahs, Saturday 5 June, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin, 5:05pm

Brumbies v Hurricanes, Saturday 5 June, GIO Stadium, Canberra, 7:45pm

Round Five

Hurricanes v Queensland Reds, Friday 11 June, Sky Stadium, Wellington, 5:05pm

Brumbies v Highlanders, Friday 11 June, GIO Stadium, Canberra, 7:45pm

Melbourne Rebels v Crusaders, Saturday 12 June, AAMI Park, Melbourne, 2:35pm

Blues v Western Force, Saturday 12 June, Eden Park, Auckland, 5:05pm

NSW Waratahs v Chiefs, Saturday 12 June, TBC, 7:45pm


Saturday 19 June 2021

*draw subject to change, all times are listed in AEST

^Super Round timings and venue will be released in due course.

Every game of the Trans-Tasman tournament will be live and on demand, ad-free as part of a new add-on sports package which will become available on Stan in 2021.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.