UC Davis Health researchers win 2020 Chancellor’s Innovation Awards

Recipients of the UC Davis 2020 Chancellor’s Innovation Awards include four UC Davis Health researchers.

UC Davis Health researchers have been recognized for improving lives and addressing social needs. UC Davis Health researchers have been recognized for improving lives and addressing social needs.

The awards recognize faculty, project teams and community partners for their work, dedication and success in improving the lives of others and addressing the needs of society through innovative solutions.

Innovator of the Year awards went to Ramsey Badawi, professor and vice chair of research in the Department of Radiology, and Simon Cherry, distinguished professor in the departments of Biomedical Engineering and Radiology, for developing the world’s first total-body PET scanner.

Mark Underwood, chief of neonatology and associate professor in the Department of Pediatrics, was part of the Innovator of Year team whose research advanced knowledge of how breast milk components interact with a specific type of bacteria to protect infants from intestinal inflammation.

Bruce Hammock, distinguished professor in the Department of Entomology and Nematology and the UC Davis Comprehensive Cancer Center, received the Lifetime Achievement Award for his work in the field of environmental immunoassays and using antibodies and biosensors to monitor human exposure to pesticides as well as food and environmental safety.

The UC Davis Chancellor’s Innovation Awards program was established to celebrate the university’s contributions to regional and global communities. The program is run by Venture Catalyst, a unit within the Innovation and Technology Commercialization division of the Office of Research.

A complete list of awardees and their accomplishments is available here.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.